The Sneaky Chocolate Cookie

I love chocolate cookies. Really, really love chocolate cookies. I also have to be dancing on stage in a cat-suit at the start of July.

Do you see my dilemma?

A couple of weeks ago I found the solution.

I wanted to make the perfect rehearsal snacks to take along to Cats – I wanted something fudgy and sweet, but light enough that it wouldn’t screw up my diet or those of my castmates. Because wheat is a big no-no for a lot of people, doing anything in the form of the traditional choc-chip was out of the question. I found this recipe for Chocolate Soufflé Cookies at Against The Grain; I didn’t really want a meringue, because they can crack and crumb all over the place if they don’t turn out right… but they sounded so tasty! After looking in a few old cookbooks, I realised I was really looking for that coconut-y chew of a macaroon. The Sneaky Chocolate Cookie was born.

Sneaky, why? One of the biggest selling points of these cookies is that they’re only between 20 and 40 calories a cookie, depending on the chocolate you use.

I’ve managed two batches of these in the past week and will probably make another before I head off to the ski fields on Friday. The second batch was made especially for Cats rehearsal on Wednesday night and was completely demolished before we packed up for the evening.

The Sneaky Chocolate Cookie makes 30-40 cookies

Ingredients

4 egg whites (or 3 if they’re big eggs)

Pinch of cream of tartar

¼ cup of castor sugar

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

1/3 cup of desiccated coconut

200g of 70% cocoa dark chocolate (I used Cadbury Old Gold this time)

Steps

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Melt your chocolate. I like the method of using a bowl over simmering water, because things melt slowly and evenly. You could break the chocolate into a microwave safe bowl and zap it at 30 second intervals until it’s all smooth.
  3. While the chocolate is melting, put the egg whites into a large glass bowl with the cream of tartar. Mix with electric beaters until they reach a soft peak stage.
  4. Gradually add the sugar, beating until firm peaks are formed. Add the vanilla. 
  5. Using a wooden spoon or a silicone spatula, fold the coconut and melted chocolate into the egg white mixture. Don’t be afraid to mix it well – I find it’s better to have an even colour and spread of chocolate than lumps of meringue in a cooked cookie.
  6. Line your trays with baking paper. Place heaped teaspoons of the cookie mixture a couple of centimetres apart on the trays.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes, until the cookies look a bit puffed up and still spring back when you press them.
  8. Place cookies on a cooling rack as soon as possible, to ensure maximum crispy-on-the-outside and fudgy-on-the-inside.

Try being a real grown-up and enjoy your cookies with a glass of milk.

One Comment to “The Sneaky Chocolate Cookie”

  1. Great first post Kitty. I highly recommend these cookies. They are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

